Supervisor Elham AbolFateh
Editor in Chief Mohamed Wadie

Farouk Hosny Art Awards Enrich Egypt's Arts Scene, Support Rising Talents

Tue 08 Mar 2022 | 04:16 AM
Rana Atef

On Monday, the third edition of the Farouk Hosny Art Awards was concluded by the ceremony of announcing the names of the winners, and the group exhibition of the shortlisted artworks.

The event witnessed huge crowds of young artists, veteran experts, officials, and art fans who exchanged impressive points of view regarding the exhibited works, and the future of the scene of arts nowadays.

1460 artworks submitted by 749 participants were received by the juries for selecting three winners for every competition, alongside supporting the unique talents that were qualified to the final stage for giving them the chance to exhibit their works to the public, and art lovers.

The exhibition witnessed impressively attendance from young arts from all over Egypt, in addition to the art students and activists.

Hundred of various disciplinary artworks were displayed, all of them executed by artists who are aged under 35 years old.

The exhibits represent the five-section Farouk Hosny Art Awards: Painting, Photography, Architecture, Sculpture, and Art Critique.

The show was opened by iconic TV Presenter Jasmine Taha, giving a short brief about the history of the foundation, and announcing the name of the newly-founded prize, the Grand Merit Award. It will be given to an influential figure who inspired and enriched the scene of the arts.

Former Minister of Culture, and the Founder of the Farouk Hosny Foundation for Culture and Arts Farouk Hosny expressed in a short film about the prize that this award was founded due to the great success of the previous editions of the Art Awards, and the foundation decided to pay a tribute to veteran experts who really did a change, and left a mark in the domestic cultural scene.

Iconic Egyptian painter and artist George Bahgoury was named as the winner of the first edition of this prize. Hosny commended that this prize is an appreciation to a figure who produced thousands of influential and unique artworks.

Next, Dr. Khaled Sorrour, the Head of the Fine Arts Sector, delivered a speech on the behalf of the Minister of Culture Dr. Enas Abdel Dayem.

The minister greeted the foundation and its impressive work for giving the young artists the support, the power, and the platform for expressing themselves, and to provide the scene of arts with the needed young, flourishing and new blood.

Moving to Hosny's speech, the icon thanked the audience and the artists who supported the foundation. In addition, he greeted the young artists and art lovers who backed the activities of the foundation.

He asserted that he founded his own foundation and museum to continue his life message of supporting rising young and promising artists with everything he has: passion, home, fortune, and experience.

Finally, the ceremony was concluded by announcing the names of the winners, and awards.

The Winners

In the presence of the head of the foundation‘s board of trustees, Farouk Hosny, and several artists, officials, ambassadors, and popular figures, the prizes of the competition’s five sections have been received.

Art Critique Award

The first announced prize was the Art Critique Award. The jury of the Art Critique Award included Dr. Amal Nasr, professor and head of the Painting Department, Faculty of Fine Arts, Alexandria University, Dr. Hani Abul Hassan, Professor at Faculty of Arts, Alexandria University, and Dr. Mustafa Issa Ahmed, artist and Fine Art critic.

Only nine participants out of 17 ones were qualified for the final round.

The winners of the third-place were Shaimaa Mahmoud Ahmed and Shady Abdel Fattah Mohamed. On the other hand, the winner of second place was Noha Mohamed.

Finally, the first prize went to Nehal Mohamed Al Sayed.

Architecture Award

The second announced prize was the Architecture one. This competition saw various group participants, unlike the other prizes. Therefore, eleven group and inpidual participants were qualified for the final round.

The award’s jury carried the names of Soheir Hawas, professor of Architecture and Urban Design at Faculty of Engineering, Cairo University, Mohamed Abu Seada, the director of the National Authority of Civilization Coordination, Hamdy El Sotouhy, Architecture specialized in museum & develop heritage areas, and member of The International Council on Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS), an engineer Hatem El Said.

The winners of the third-place were Mostafa Haroun, Nada Abdou, and Israa Ahmed for their "IL Moltaka" project. While the second place went to Mohamed Wahid Farid's "Domes of Hope."

The first prize went to the "Skills Warehouse" project by Mohamed Othman Abu Zaid.

Photography Award

Next, the Prize of Photography winners were declared. The jury had a number of leading artists’ names such as the iconic DOP Onsi Abu Seif, CEO of the Arts and Culture Complex Dr. Ashraf Reda, artist Ayman Lotfi, artist Emad Abdel Hady, and artist Ayman Nassar. 36 participants were qualified for the final contest.

The winner of the third-place was Abdel Rahman Mahmoud Fahmy. The second place went to George Al Qomos Youssef, while, the first place went to Mohamed Mahmoud Ahmed.

Sculpture Award 

Shortly, the winners of the Sculpture Awards were announced. 23 participants were qualified for the final contest out of 76 ones.

the jury of Sculpture award included Dr. Mohammad Al-Alawy, professor at Faculty of Fine Arts, Helwan University, and the former vice dean for Graduate Studies and Research of the Faculty of Fine Arts, Helwan University, alongside, Artist Nagi Farid, and Dr. Essam Darwish, Professor at Department of Sculpture, Faculty of Art Education, Helwan University.

It also included Dr. Marwa Youssef, the former head of the Department of Sculpture, Faculty of Fine Arts at Zamalek, and Artist Ehab El Labban, the director of the Center of Arts.

The winners of third place were Mahmoud Shaban Ahmed, and the second place went to Mohamed Amin El Tohamy. Finally, the first place went to Mona Attiya.

Painting Award

Finally, the winners of the Painting Award were declared. This competition witnessed the highest number of participants, however, only 79 projects were qualified for the final round.

The jury carried a number of prestigious names such as Dr. Aleya Abdel Hadi, the former dean of the Faculty of Architecture and Arts, University of Petra, Dr. Huessein Al Shabouri, artist and museum display expert, artist Mohamed Abla, artist Samir Fouad, and Dr. Ahmed Ragab Saqr, the former Dean of Faculty of Fine Arts, Minya University.

The third place went to Mahmoud Shaaban Ahmed, on the other hand, the second place went to Mohamed Amin Al Tohamy. Finally, Mohamed Ahmed Abdel Aal.

At the end of the night, various artists exchange their points of view regarding the paintings, on the other hand, several participants celebrated the success of the wonderful and harmonious night of arts and joy.

[gallery jnewsslider="true" jnewsslider_title="3rd Farouk Hosny Art Awards " ids="321916,321915,321914,321913,321909,321910,321911,321912,321917,321918,321919,321920,321924,321923,321922,321921,321929,321930,321931,321932,321928,321927,321926,321925,321933,321935,321934,321936,321937,321938,321939,321940,321944,321943,321942,321941,321945,321950,321946,321947,321951,321952,321948"]