Supervisor Elham AbolFateh
Editor in Chief Mohamed Wadie

BTS’ V Drops Debut Solo Album "Layover"

Sat 09 Sep 2023 | 09:11 AM
Yara Sameh

BTS member V unleashed at the stroke of midnight his debut solo LP, "Layover".

The collection spans six tracks – the previously released “Rainy Days,” “Blue,” first cut “Love Me Again,” “Slow Dancing,” “For Us”, and a bonus track piano version of “Slow Dancing".

The tracks are meant to be played in a specific order.

In a release from BIGHIT last month, the music company suggested playing tracks from 1-5, noting that “Slow Dancing” is the focus number of the collection, describing it as a “1970s romantic soul style track [that] exudes a laid-back and free-spirited feeling.”

The K-pop superstar worked with NewJeans creative director/ADOR president Hee Jin Min on the album, with BIGHIT revealing that Min oversaw the entire production of the collection, including music, choreography, design and promotion.

V’s previous solo efforts include “Stigma,” “Singularity,” “Winter Bear” and “Inner Child”; his most recent original solo songs are 2021’s “Christmas Tree,” which was on the soundtrack of the Netflix K-drama "Our Beloved Summer" and last year’s version of the holiday classic “It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas.”

The release follows the start of bandmate Suga’s military enlistment process, becoming the third member to enlist in South Korea’s mandatory military service, following Jin and J-Hope.

BTS are world-beaters with six No.1 Billboard Hot 100 singles since 2020, a growing collection of industry honors including Billboard Music Awards, American Music Awards and MTV Video Music Awards.

They are also a two-time winners of the IFPI’s Global Recording Artist of the Year, in doing so becoming the only group to double up for the prestigious award, and only act to win over consecutive years.