Supervisor Elham AbolFateh
Editor in Chief Mohamed Wadie

BLACKPINK’s Jisoo Drops Solo Debut Album "ME"

Fri 31 Mar 2023 | 03:29 PM
Yara Sameh

BLACKPINK member Jisoo dropped on Friday the music video for her long-awaited solo music project "ME".

The two-song project comes in “red” and “black” versions in a special commemorative box featuring a photo book, lyric sheet, random Polaroid, and random “selfie card”.

The k-pop idol is the fourth and final member of the group to branch out with her music. Jennie was the first member to go solo, with the single “Solo” in 2018. She was followed by members Rosé and Lisa in 2021, with the releases “Lalisa” and “R”, respectively.

The last member of the girl group to go solo, Jisoo has long teased a solo venture, revealing that she was going to record an album in 2022.

YG Entertainment confirmed in late February that the singer was preparing to release solo music in 2023.

Jisoo spoke about going solo during an interview in May 2022. “I’m not sure how much I want to go solo yet,” she told Rolling Stone at the time.

“The music I listen to, the music I can do, and the music I want to do — what should I choose? I love songs with lots of instruments. I love different bands and rock music. What do people want from me? There’s a chaos of conflicting questions. So I’m still tilting my head in confusion. I’m not sure what will happen with my solo plans this year.”

Meanwhile, BLACKPINK is set to headline a performance at Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival in April, becoming the first all-female K-pop group to perform at the famous fest.

They are set to take the stage at the BST Hyde Park concert series in London on July 2. The K-pop idol will share the stage with “Nonsense” singer Sabrina Carpenter, as well as South Korean indie rockers The Rose and up-and-coming English pop singers Caity Baser and Mae Stephens.

The massive summer series has already announced a special edition of P!nk’s Summer Carnival outing with Gwen Stefani on June 24 and 25, a June 30 show with Guns N’ Roses, beloved British boy band Take That with The Script and Sugarbabes on July 1, Billy Joel and Daryl Hall on July 7 and Bruce Springsteen & the E Street Band on July 6 and 8.