صدى البلد البلد سبورت قناة صدى البلد صدى البلد جامعات صدى البلد عقارات
Supervisor Elham AbolFateh
Editor in Chief Mohamed Wadie

5 Fascinating Books That Beg You to Skim Through This Week


Tue 10 Sep 2019 | 02:07 PM
Ahmed Yasser

You still have plenty of time to start reading  good and entertaining books . There are 5 books that beg you to skim through this week. there are plenty of highly-anticipated books releases on the way.

1- When Breath Becomes Air

For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon and Anne Lamott, this inspiring، exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?.

What makes life worth living in the face of death?. What do you do when the future no longer a ladder toward your goals in life flattens out into a perpetual present?. What does it mean to have a child to nurture a new life as another fades away?. These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving exquisitely observed memoir.

2- “You Can Stop Humming Now” by Daniela Lamas

“Lamas” was the one resident who refused to let her patients die. This seems like a low bar but as Dr. Lamas enters the world of critical care it becomes harder than she realizes.

Through Lamas’ eyes we learn about a woman whose blood is oxygenated outside of her body and a man who plugs into a wall every night to keep his heart beating and offering compelling portraits of the thin line between life and death.

3- Never Grow Up

Now in ''Never Grow Up'', the global superstar reflects ''Jackie Chan" on his early life including his childhood years at the China Drama Academy which he was enrolled at the age of six, his big breaks and setbacks in ''Hong Kong'' and ''Hollywood'', his numerous brushes with death both on and off film sets and his life as a husband and father.

4-Myths Of Happiness by Sonja Lyubomirsky

If you’re going to read only one book the next year، let it be this one. Sonja Lyubomirsky’s The Myths of Happiness is an informative and refreshing read that debunks the myths of happiness perpetuated by the society that marriage, parenthood and financial prosperity are prerequisites for a happy life. The author investigates how such culturally imposed expectations make it difficult for people to cope with the realities of adulthood.

She offers practical advice on how to prevent rumination cope with adversities and make the most of a given opportunity to reach and exceed one’s happiness potentials.

5- King of Scars

King of Scars is a forthcoming novel by ”Leigh Bardugo”, set in the Grishaverse and focused on the character Nikolai Lantsov. It is set to be released on January 29, 2019.

”Nikolai Lantsov” has always had a gift for the impossible. No one knows what he endured in his country’s bloody civil war and he intends to keep it that way. Now, as enemies gather at his weakened borders the young king must find a way to refill ”Ravka’s” coffers, forge new alliances and stop a rising threat to the once-great ”Grisha Army”.

With the help of a young monk and a legendary ”Grisha Squaller”, ”Nikolai” will journey to the places in ”Ravka” where the deepest magic survives to vanquish the terrible legacy inside him. He will risk everything to save his country and himself.