Supervisor Elham AbolFateh
Editor in Chief Mohamed Wadie

Parliamentary Election: Egyptian Expats Vote via Express Mail Due to Covid-19

Tue 20 Oct 2020 | 03:59 PM
Gehan Aboella

For the second time, the Coronavirus pandemic prevented Egyptian expatriates from flocking to embassies and consulates to cast their votes in the Parliamentary election, after they were not able to vote in the recent Senate elections for the same reason.

Thus, the National Elections Authority decided to allow voting through "express mail" due to the spread of COVID-19.

Ministry of State for Immigration and Egyptian Expatriates' Affairs has begun to follow up the second day of voting, in cooperation and coordination with the National Elections Authority, and all inquiries and questions about the voting process.

The Ministry also responds to the Egyptians abroad by various means of communication, as they began today to print and send ballot papers to the headquarters of the diplomatic missions.

Nabila Makram, Minister of Immigration, confirmed that the ministry's team is working around the clock to receive voters’ questions and inquiries about the new voting steps which include printing ballot papers and selecting their candidate, then sending ballot cards via express mail to the headquarters of diplomatic missions and embassies.

Makram called on all Egyptians abroad who registered in the National Elections Authority website, to print ballot papers through the National Elections Authority website:, and then send them to the headquarters of diplomatic missions in each country, on 19th and 20th of October so that they arrive at the dates announced by the National Elections Commission from October 21 to 23.

The Ministry of Immigration has specified the e-mail, [email protected], to follow up the inquiries of Egyptians abroad about the electoral process, as well as through the WhatsApp service on the following numbers: 01069613755/01062437210.

Voting in the Parliamentary election takes place outside Egypt in two stages, as the ongoing first phase includes 14 governorates, which are: Giza, Fayoum, Beni-Suef, Sohag, Minya, Assiut, New Valley, Qena, Luxor, Aswan, the Red Sea, Alexandria, Beheira, Marsa-Matrouh.

Contributed by Mohammad Elzoheiry