Supervisor Elham AbolFateh
Editor in Chief Mohamed Wadie

NJPW G1 Climax 33 Tournament to Kick off Tomorrow

Fri 14 Jul 2023 | 11:58 PM
Rana Atef

Tomorrow, New Japan Pro Wrestling's (NJPW) annual G1 Climax tournament will return for its 33rd edition. The tournament features all NJPW stars who are above the Junior category to earn a shot for the IWGP Heavyweight title at the promotion's biggest annual festival Wrestle Kingdom at Tokyo Dome, the most prestigious sports venue in the Asian country.

This year will see the participation of 32 superstars, and they are divided into 4 blocks.

The participants include: One-third of Never Open-Wieght Six-Man Tag Team Champions Kazuchika Okada, Tetsuya Naito, IWGP US Heavyweight Champion Will Ospreay, One-third of Never Open-Wieght Six-Man Tag Team Champions Hiroshi Tanahashi, Never Open-Weight Champion David Finlay, and IWGP Heavyweight Champion SANADA.

In addition, AEW/ROH star Eddie Kingston will make his G1 debut during the upcoming edition.

Yota Tsuji, Shota Umino, Hikuleo, and Ren Narita are among the debuting G1 names, this year.

Kaito Kiyomiya will be the first NOAH star to participate in the G1 tournament since 2016.

Tomorrow's competitions will be dedicated to Block A, and B, and they will take place in Hokkaido

The competitions for tomorrow are as follows:

A Block

Shota Umino vs. Ren Narita

Yota Tsuji vs. Kaito Kiyomiya

SANADA vs. Hikuleo

Chase Owens vs. Gabe Kidd

B Block

Tanga Loa vs. KENTA

YOSHI-HASHI vs. El Phantasmo

Kazuchika Okada vs. Great O-Khan

Taichi vs. Will Ospreay