Supervisor Elham AbolFateh
Editor in Chief Mohamed Wadie

Gov't Names 17 New Governors

Wed 27 Nov 2019 | 09:12 AM
NaDa Mustafa

The Egyptian government named 17 new governors and appointed 9 new governor deputies on Wednesday.

It is expected that new governors and their deputies will take the oath before President Abdel Fattah El Sisi later today, according to the sources.

The new governors include:

1-Mohamed Al-Sherif for Alexandria.

2-Tarek Rahmy for Al-Gharbiya

3-Mohamed Hany for Beni Suef

4- Amr Hanafy for Red Sea.

5-Tarek Al Feki for Sohag

6-Khaled Shoeab for Marsa Matrouh

7- Sherif Fahmy Beshara for Ismailia

8-Ashraf Abdul Bary for Aswan

9-Osama Al-Kady for Menya

10-Abdul Hamid Abdel Aziz for Al-Qaliobya

11-Gamal Nor Al-Din for Kafr al Sheikh

12-Essam Saad Ibrahim for Assuit

13-Ahmed Abdul Al Ansary for Al Fayoum

14-Ashraf Al Dardery for Qena

15-Ayman Moktar for al Dqahliya

16-Ibrahim al Shehawy for Menoufiya

17-Ahmed Abdul Al Ansary for Fayoum

Moreover, Sisi is set to hold a meeting with the newly appointed governors and their deputies after swearing oath.

It is worth mentioning that, Egypt is set to see a large-scale cabinet reshuffle of at least 10 ministers of Moustafa Madbouly’s government this week, according to parliamentary sources.

In statements, MP Mohamed Abdel Ghani said that the reshuffle comes, at this specific time, in response to people’s sense of dissatisfaction with the performance of the government, and the lack of a clear improvement in the living standards of most citizens.

He anticipated changes to ministries of supply, health, finance, trade and industry, planning, housing, higher education, local development, education, and social solidarity.

The government previously received a vote of confidence from parliament in July 2018.