Supervisor Elham AbolFateh
Editor in Chief Mohamed Wadie

"Captain America 4" Gets New Title

Wed 07 Jun 2023 | 11:31 AM
Yara Sameh

“Captain America: New World Order” will now be called “Captain America: Brave New World.”

Marvel Studios announced Tuesday the title change for its upcoming fourth “Captain America” movie on social media alongside a first-look photo of stars Anthony Mackie and Harrison Ford on the film’s set.

Marvel originally announced last July that “Captain America 4” would be subtitled “New World Order” and be released on May 3, 2024. 

The upcoming installment sees Mackie officially suiting up and taking flight as the new Captain America, a role previously played by Chris Evans.

Evans first appeared in 2011's “Captain America: The First Avenger” as the weak and frail Rogers, a kid from Brooklyn who wanted to stand up to bullies. The hero’s journey to becoming Captain America began when he was injected with the super-soldier serum. 

Along the way, he befriended Sam Wilson, played by Anthony Mackie, a loyal friend to Rogers, who fought with him to protect the innocent. “Avengers: Endgame” closed a lot of loose ends and included new beginnings, including an old Rogers choosing Sam Wilson, the Falcon, as the next Captain America. 

Mackie first appeared as Wilson in 2014’s “Captain America: The Winter Soldier” and reprised the role in six movies in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. 

Wilson officially assumed the mantle in the Disney Plus+ series “The Falcon and the Winter Soldier” after Steve Rogers (played by Chris Evans) passed on Captain America’s shield at the end of “Avengers: Endgame”.Hello, Tailor: Costuming and Design in Captain America: The Winter Soldier -- Steve & Bucky.

“Captain America: Brave New World” is directed by Julius Onah and co-written by Malcolm Spellman, who was the creator of “The Falcon and the Winter Soldier.” 

The cast includes Ford in his MCU debut as Thaddeus “Thunderbolt” Ross, taking over for the late William Hurt. Ross is now the President of the United States in “Brave New World”. 

Liv Tyler and Tim Blake Nelson also star, reprising their roles of Betty Ross and Samuel Sterns from “The Incredible Hulk”.

The cast also includes Shira Haas and “Top Gun: Maverick” actor Danny Ramirez.

"Captain America: New World Order" hits the cinemas on May 3, 2024.