Supervisor Elham AbolFateh
Editor in Chief Mohamed Wadie

UN Security Council Welcomes Two First-time Members

Wed 04 Jan 2023 | 10:17 AM
By Ahmad El-Assasy

Ecuador, Japan, Malta, Mozambique, and Switzerland have officially assumed their two-year seats on the UN Security Council, which they won in June.

Tuesday, the ambassadors of the five nations added their flags to those of the other council members outside the chambers of the influential body, carrying on a custom Kazakhstan established in 2018.

It was a "historic date," according to the officials of Mozambique and Switzerland, who also expressed a "deep feeling of humility and responsibility."

Malta is the second country to join the council; meanwhile, Ecuador and Japan are both making their fourth and record-breaking twelfth appearances.

China, France, Russia, the UK, and the US are permanent veto-wielding members of the Security Council, which has 15 members.

The General Assembly of 193 nations elects the other 10 for two-year terms. They are chosen geographically in an effort to include all continents.

A seat on the council is widely regarded as a diplomatic victory that can boost a country's standing abroad and provide tiny countries a stronger voice than they might otherwise have in crucial international peace and security issues.

In addition to examining issues like terrorism and arms control, the council can censure nations, authorise sanctions, and speak out on disputes and flashpoints.

Council members may also utilise the stage to draw attention to recent developments or subjects that particularly interest them.

Years are frequently spent by nations running campaigns to get on the Security Council. However, since the UN was founded in 1946, roughly 60 countries have never held a seat on its body.

India, Ireland, Kenya, Mexico, and Norway's tenure, which were set to expire on December 31, are replaced by the five newest members.

The terms of Albania, Brazil, Gabon, Ghana, and the UAE are still in effect as are those of the other members.