Supervisor Elham AbolFateh
Editor in Chief Mohamed Wadie

Trio Wins Physics Nobel Prize for Exploring Electrons Work

Tue 03 Oct 2023 | 05:42 PM
Rana Atef

Three atomic physicists won the Nobel Physics Prize of Physics for their intensive research in exploring the activity of the electrons inside atoms and molecules, the prize committee announced on Tuesday.

The three scientists are: the French Pierre Agostini, Hungarian-Austrian Ferenc Krausz, and French-Swedish Anne L’Huillier.

The jury said that the three experts was honored “for experimental methods that generate attosecond pulses of light for the study of electron dynamics in matter," adding that “An attosecond is so short that there are as many in one second as there have been seconds since the birth of the universe."

It also said the trio “have demonstrated a way to create extremely short pulses of light that can be used to measure the rapid processes in which electrons move or change energy.”

“The laureates’ contributions have enabled the investigation of processes that are so rapid they were previously impossible to follow."