Supervisor Elham AbolFateh
Editor in Chief Mohamed Wadie

Today Marks 104th Anniv. of British Mandate of Palestine

Wed 03 Apr 2024 | 01:02 PM
Ahmed Emam

Today marks the 104th anniversary of the British Mandate of Palestine.

Mandatory Palestine was a geographic region that existed between 1920 and 1948 in Palestine, under the provisions of the League of Nations Mandate for Palestine.

During the First World War in 1916, an Arab uprising against the Ottoman Empire emerged, and British forces drove Ottoman forces out of the Levant. 

The United Kingdom had agreed to honor Arab independence in the event of a rebellion in the McMahon–Hussein Correspondence, but ultimately the United Kingdom and France divided what had been Ottoman Syria under the Sykes–Picot Agreement, which was viewed as a betrayal by the Arabs. Another issue was the Balfour Declaration of 1917, in which Britain pledged its support for the creation of a Jewish "national home" in Palestine. 

Mandatory Palestine was established in 1920, and Britain was granted a Mandate for Palestine by the League of Nations in 1922.

During the Mandate, the area experienced successive waves of Jewish immigration and the emergence of nationalist movements in both the Jewish and Arab communities. The competing interests of the two populations resulted in the 1936–1939 Arab revolt in Palestine and the 1944–1948 Jewish insurgency in Mandatory Palestine. 

The United Nations Partition Plan for Palestine, which proposed dividing the territory into two states - one Arab and one Jewish, was adopted in November 1947. The 1948 Palestine war eventually led to the division of the territory of Mandatory Palestine between the State of Israel, the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan (which annexed territory on the West Bank of the Jordan River), and the Kingdom of Egypt (which established the "All-Palestine Protectorate" in the Gaza Strip).

Mandatory Palestine was designated as a Class A Mandate, indicating a high level of self-governance, based on its social, political, and economic development. This classification was reserved for post-war mandates with the highest capacity for self-governance. All Class A mandates other than Mandatory Palestine had gained independence by 1946. All Class A mandates other than Mandatory Palestine had gained independence by 1946.