Supervisor Elham AbolFateh
Editor in Chief Mohamed Wadie

Russia Expands Sanctions List Against EU Citizens in Retaliation

Fri 23 Feb 2024 | 03:26 PM
By Ahmad El-Assasy

The Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs has announced that Moscow has expanded its blacklist, banning entry to Russia for a significant number of European Union citizens. 

This move comes as a retaliatory measure against the European Union's thirteenth package of sanctions.

According to Russia Today, the expanded sanctions target representatives from European institutions and member states, deemed responsible for unfriendly actions against Russia.

The Russian government labels the EU's sanctions as illegal, asserting they undermine the international legal authority of the United Nations Security Council. 

Moscow vows to respond appropriately and timely to any unfriendly actions by Western countries.

In response to the EU's latest sanctions package, Russia's entry ban specifically targets EU citizens involved in providing military assistance to the Kiev regime, those involved in persecuting Russian officials with "fabricated and illegal" charges, and individuals advocating for the confiscation of Russian state assets.

The list includes European security institution representatives, business organizations of EU member states, and those spreading misinformation about Russia.