Supervisor Elham AbolFateh
Editor in Chief Mohamed Wadie

Malta to Take over UN Security Council Presidency for April

Mon 01 Apr 2024 | 05:23 PM
Israa Farhan

As of today, Monday, the Republic of Malta assumes the rotating presidency of the United Nations Security Council for April, succeeding Japan.

Malta's Permanent Representative to the UN, Ambassador Vanessa Frazier, will hold a press conference later today in New York time, during which accredited press will be briefed on the council's agenda, following the approval of the program in a morning session by the Security Council.

The Security Council consists of 15 member states, each with one vote, including five permanent members with veto power: Russia, China, France, the United Kingdom, and the United States, as well as 10 non-permanent members elected for two-year terms by the General Assembly.

These members include Malta, Algeria, Switzerland, Mozambique, Japan, Guyana, South Korea, Slovenia, Sierra Leone, and Ecuador.

The Security Council is one of the six principal organs of the UN, along with the General Assembly, the International Court of Justice, as well as the Trusteeship Council, the Economic and Social Council, and the Secretariat.