Supervisor Elham AbolFateh
Editor in Chief Mohamed Wadie

Japan Imposes Sanctions on 141 People from Russia, DPR, LPR

Tue 10 May 2022 | 11:46 AM
NaDa Mustafa

Japan announced new sanctions against 141 people from Russia, the Donetsk People's Republic (DPR) and the Lugansk People's Republic (LPR), as well as 71 Russian companies.

The list of sanctions included Russian Prime Minister (PM) Mikhail Mishustin, Deputy Secretary of the Russian Security Council Rashid Nurgaliev, and relatives of businessman Gennady Timchenko.

According to the sanctions, the Japanese authorities will freeze the assets of these people in Japan.

It is worth mentioning that, New Zealand announced further sanctions against Russia, targeting 170 senators in the Russian parliament, and the Federation Council, as well as six companies in the defense sector.

“While Russian President Vladimir Putin’s war machine continues its illegal attacks and as more revelations of atrocities emerging, we are determined to impose costs on those involved,” New Zealand Foreign Minister (FM) Nanaia Mahuta said.

“We support the people of Ukraine and are committed to holding President Putin and his group of war instigators accountable,” Mahuta added.