Supervisor Elham AbolFateh
Editor in Chief Mohamed Wadie

Burkina Faso, Mali, Niger Withdraw from ECOWAS

Sun 28 Jan 2024 | 05:54 PM
Israa Farhan

In a significant move, Burkina Faso, Mali, and Niger declared their immediate withdrawal from the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) on Sunday.

The leaders of these three Sahel nations issued a joint statement asserting that their departure from the regional economic bloc is a "sovereign decision."

ECOWAS, the Economic Community of West African States, confirmed the withdrawal of the three countries today, marking a significant shift in the regional dynamics.

Burkina Faso and Mali had aligned themselves with Niger's military when it ousted President Mohamed Bazoum on July 26th of last year.

These countries had previously threatened to withdraw from ECOWAS due to the organization's stance on the situation in Niger.

The departure of these nations from ECOWAS underscores the complex geopolitical challenges facing the region and raises questions about the future of regional cooperation and stability in West Africa.