Supervisor Elham AbolFateh
Editor in Chief Mohamed Wadie

Bulgaria, Romania Join Schengen Zone

Sun 31 Mar 2024 | 09:13 AM
Romania, Bulgaria Flags
Romania, Bulgaria Flags
Rana Atef

Romania and Bulgaria joined the EU visa-free Schengen zone on Sunday. 

Travelers will be able to move between the two Eastern European countries and the rest of the EU without a visa and passport by sea and air.

However, moving through land routs is not included due to a veto by Austria. Austria objected the decision due to fears that it would enable non-EU migrants to more easily enter other EU states.

President of the European Commission Ursula von der Leyen said on Saturday: "This is a great success for both countries," .

"And a historic moment for the Schengen area — the largest area of free movement in the world. Together, we are building a stronger, more united Europe for all our citizens."

The Schengen area includes the 25 other EU member states along with non-EU states Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein.