The world’s well-known Egyptologist ZahiHawass met with Polish Foreign Minister Jacek Czaputowicz, who is on an official visit to Egypt, at the pyramids plateau.
What did Hawass say to Czaputowicz and his accompanying delegation?
“The Sphinx dates back to the era of King Khafre, who established the middle pyramid.”
Refuting all rumors, Hawass stressed that the Sphinx is a statue of a deaf nature and there are not any lost cities under it. Yet, there are four tunnels, each with its own story.
“In 1937, French Architect Peering drilled the cellar on the upper back of the statue, as he was looking for treasures inside the statue’s body
Hawass did refurbish this cellar himself and amongst the most significant findings was a part of the head-cover of the Sphinx.
Moreover, the second chamber is located at the northern side of the Sphinx, it can’t be seen to our date as it was closed by the French archaeologist Barther, allegations suggest that it housed various treasures and antiquities.
The third cellar is right at the back of the “Dream Painting,” an Italian adventurer dug, in the 19th century, below the statue’s bust to discover the drawing that belongs to Pharaoh Thutmose IV covering a 3-meters gap.
The painting consists of hieroglyphic scriptures that tell the details of prince Thutmose’s dream of visiting the pyramids before rising to the throne.
“He fell asleep under the shadow of the Sphinx, who promised him that he would be the king and in exchange of this bode he asked him to remove all the sand that besieged most of his body.”
At the end of the tour, Hawass gifted Czaputowicz a copy of his book ‘Giza.’